Steely Dan: The Definitive Collection CD 2006 16 Hit Tracks

The First Ever Multi-Label Compilation Covering Their Entire Recording Career. Features All Their Hits 'Do It Again,' 'Reeling In The Years,' 'Rikki Don't Lose That Number' & 'Hey Nineteen' Plus Their Most Renowned Album Tracks From 'Dirty Work' To 'Cousin Dupree'. Over 76 Minutes Of The Greatest Steely Dan. 

Newly Digitally Remastered From The Original Sources By Famed Engineer Joe Palmaccio. Booklet Includes Historic Photos & Complete Credits Replaces Steely Dan Decade Major U.S. Tour This Summer. Major TV campaign To Support The Release.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Do It Again
2 Dirty Work
3 Reelin in the Years
4 Bodhisattva
5 My Old School
6 Rikki Dont Lose That Number
7 Black Friday
8 Bad Sneakers
9 Kid Charlemagne
10 Deacon Blues
11 Peg
12 F.M.
13 Hey Nineteen
14 Babylon Sisters
15 Cousin Dupree
16 Things I Miss the Most

Product Reviews

Geffen's 2006 release The Definitive Collection is a mere 16 tracks long, which is a bit short for covering Steely Dan's career. They may not have landed many singles within the Billboard charts -- only 15 between their 1973 debut, Can't Buy a Thrill, and their 2000 comeback, Two Against Nature -- but they had plenty of standards on album rock radio, giving the impression that they had more charting hits than they actually did. This can make compiling a Dan hits collection a little difficult, since concentrating on either the chart singles or the radio staples will wind up giving a misleading impression. The Definitive Collection attempts to negotiate the two: it has the biggest singles -- "Do It Again," "Reeling in the Years," "Rikki Don't Lose That Number," "Deacon Blues," "Peg," "Hey Nighteen" -- and it has such radio favorites as "Bodhisattva," "My Old School," "FM," and "Babylon Sisters." This disc does take into account their new-millennium comeback, pulling "Cousin Dupree" from Two Against Nature and "Things I Miss the Most" from 2003's Everything Must Go, which leaves less space for such Steely Dan standards as "Josie," "Time Out of Mind," "Show Biz Kids," "Any Major Dude Will Tell You," and "Aja." While those songs are missed, listeners wanting a more exhaustive compilation always have the option of purchasing 2000's excellent double-disc set Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980 instead. For those who just want a sampler of many, but not all, of Steely Dan's biggest and best songs, this will suit them fine. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi


Steely Dan
Definitive Collection
Rock / Pop
1 August 2006
~ Discs:1
Umgd/McA ( MCA1 )
Compact Disc


Sold Out