Shania Twain: Come On Over CD 2007

Shania Twain's second record, The Woman in Me, became a blockbuster, appealing as much to a pop audience as it did to the country audience. Part of the reason for its success was how producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange -- best-known for his work with Def Leppard, the Cars, and AC/DC -- steered Twain toward the big choruses and instrumentation that always was a signature of his speciality, AOR radio.*Note Video clip is for audio sample only no video on the CD.

Come on Over, the sequel to The Woman in Me, continues that approach, breaking from contemporary country conventions in a number of ways. Not only does the music lean toward rock, but its 16 songs and, as the cover proudly claims, "Hour of Music," break from the country tradition of cheap, short albums of ten songs that last about a half-hour.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 You'Re Still the One
2 When
3 From This Moment on
4 Black Eyes, Blue Tears
5 I Won't Leave You Lonely
6 I'M Holdin' on to Love (to Save My Life)
7 Come on Over
8 You'Ve Got a Way
9 Whatever You Do! Don'T!
10 Man! I Feel Like a Woman
11 Love Gets Me Every Time
12 Don't Be Stupid (You Know I Love You)
13 That Don't Impress Me Much
14 Honey, I'M Home
15 If You Wanna Touch Her, Ask!
16 Rock This Country!


Furthermore, all 16 songs and Lange-Twain originals and Shania's sleek, sexy photos suggest a New York fashion model, not a honky tonker. And there isn't any honky tonk here, which is just as well, since the fiddles are processed to sound like synthesizers and talk boxes never sound good on down-home, gritty rave-ups. No, Shania sticks to what she does best, which is countrified mainstream pop. Purists will complain that there's little country here, and there really isn't. However, what is here is professionally crafted country-pop -- even the filler (which there is, unfortunately, too much of) sounds good -- which is delivered with conviction, if not style, by Shania, and that is enough to make it a thoroughly successful follow-up to the most successful country album by a female in history. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide


Shania Twain
Come on Over
24 April 2007
IMPORT-EU ~ Discs:1 ~ Country:EU
Compact Disc


Sold Out