Pretenders: Loose In L.A. 2003 Chrissie Hynde (Blu-ray) 2011 DTS-HD Master Audio

The Pretenders have been consistently making classic albums and hit singles in a career that now spans 30 years. Lead by the charismatic Chrissie Hynde, possessor of one of the most recognisable voices in rock music, they have topped the charts on both sides of the Atlantic and in many other territories around the world. Audio Sample Only below 


This show was filmed in high definition at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles in February 2003 on the tour for their album Loose Screw . 

It was the first Pretenders live show ever to be released on DVD. The concert combines tracks from the Loose Screw album with classic hits from across their career to deliver the definitive Pretenders live performance. Bonus Features - Promo Video for You Know Who Your Friends Are, Backstage Footage, Concert Montage.


1. Lie To Me

2. Time

3. Message of Love

4. My Baby

5. Talk of the Town

6. Who Your Friends Are

7. Time the Avenger

8. The Homecoming

9. Up The Neck

10. Fools Must Die

11. My City Was Gone

12. The Losing

13. Biker

14. Complex Person

15. Nothing Breaks Like A Heart

16. Back on the Chain Gang

17. Don't Get Me Wrong

18. Kid

19. Rebel Rock Me

20. Night In My Veins

21. Tattooed Love Boys

22. Precious

23. I'll Stand By You

24. Middle of the Road

25. Mystery Achievement

26. Brass In Pocket 

Presented in an 16x9 Widescreen aspect ratio of 1.78:1, encoded with MPEG-4 AVC and granted a 1080i "live" transfer, Loose In L.A. arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of Eagle Rock Entertainment. 

Shot in high-definition at the Wiltern Theater in 2003, Loose In L.A. looks very good on Blu-ray. I don't have the DVD release (which Eagle Rock Entertainment produced back in 2003) with me at the moment to run direct comparisons, but I would be surprised if the standard-definition presentation comes even remotely close in replicating the quality of the high-definition presentation. Detail is very good from start to finish, clarity is pleasing, and most importantly there are no serious artifacts popping up. Motion-judder is also not a serious issue of concern. The camerawork is very good and there are no image fluctuations to report in this review.

There are three audio tracks on this Blu-ray disc: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, LPCM 2.0. and Dolby Digital 5.1. For the record, I opted for the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track and later on did a few random comparisons with the other two tracks for the purpose of this review.

The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track delivers the type of quality we have come to expect from Eagle Rock Entertainment's Blu-ray releases. The sound is lush and crisp, never boomy or even remotely flat. There is a good separation between Chrissie's vocals and the guitars, while the drums never feel distant. The individual guitar solos are not pushed up. There are no distortions in the high-frequencies either. The crowd is definitely felt but the crowd noise is never overwhelming. Finally, there are no purely technical anomalies to report this review (sync issues, audio dropouts, etc).


Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC

Video resolution: 1080i

Aspect ratio: 1.78:1

Original aspect ratio: 1.78:1


English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

English: LPCM 2.0

English: Dolby Digital 5.1

English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

English: LPCM 2.0

English: Dolby Digital 5.1 (less) 


English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian 

English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian (less) 


50GB Blu-ray Disc

Single disc (1 BD)


Region free 

UPC: 801213338498 

Live Concerts: LC082


Sold Out