Of Monsters And Men: My Head Is An Animal -Full length Debut Album CD 2012 Release Date: 3 April 2012


Of Monsters and Men's 2012 full-length debut, My Head Is an Animal, features more of the Icelandic band's acoustic-driven alt-rock featured on their 2011 EP Into the Woods. Showcasing the dual singer/guitarist/songwriters Nanna Brynd s Hilmarsd ttir and Ragnar  Raggi  P rhallsson, the album also displays the six-piece ensemble's grand and anthemic style with a bent toward passionate folk-rock uplift and more layered, introspective moments. In that sense, the band brings to mind the work of such similarly inclined contemporaries as Arcade Fire, Angus & Julia Stone, and Mumford & Sons. While such cuts as the peppy, horn-driven "Little Talks," "Six Weeks," "Love Love Love," and "From Finner" are carryovers from Into the Woods, elsewhere we get the cinematic build of "King and Lionheart," the catchy, Florence + the Machine-sounding singalong "Mountain Sound," and the reverb-laden "Lakehouse." There's even the very '60s Celtic folk-meets-Ennio Morricone number "Your Bones." Thoughtfully crafted and full of melancholic lyricism and quietly desperate romanticism, My Head Is an Animal should appeal to any fan -- whether man or monster -- of sweet and wide-eyed folk-rock. ~ Matt Collar, Rovi


Of Monsters & Men
My Head Is an Animal
3 April 2012
~ Discs:1 ~ Country:USA
Umgd/Universal Records ( UNIV )
Compact Disc

Track Listing

    Track # Title
    1 Dirty Paws
    2 King and Lionheart
    3 Mountain Sound
    4 Slow and Steady
    5 From Finner
    6 Little Talks
    7 Six Weeks
    8 Love Love Love
    9 Your Bones
    10 Sloom
    11 Lakehouse
    12 Yellow Light


Sold Out