Metallica: Quebec Magnetic-Live Quebec City, Canada 2009 DVD 2012 16:9 Dolby Digital 5.1


Metallica: Quebec Magnetic was recorded live at the Colisee Pepsi in Quebec City, Canada on October 31 – November 1, 2009. As the title of this release reveals, at the time Metallica were touring to support their latest album, Death Magnetic.

The majority of the material here is from the Death Magnetic album and the band looks very comfortable with it. Right from the get-go the energy is outstanding, with "The End of The Line" in particular sounding terrific.

Metallica Quebec Magnetic: Track listing 

1. That Was Just Your Life 

2. The End Of The Line 

3. The Four Horsemen 

4. The Shortest Straw 

5. One 

6. Broken, Beat & Scarred 

7. My Apocalypse 

8. Sad But True 

9. Welcome Home (Sanitarium) 

10. The Judas Kiss 

11. The Day That Never Comes 

12. Master of Puppets 

13. Battery 

14. Nothing Else Matters 

15. Enter Sandman 

16. Killing Time 

17. Whiplash 

18. Seek & Destroy

19. Bonus Songs 

20. For Whom the Bell Tolls 

21. Holier Than Thou 

22. Cyanide 

23. Turn the Page 

24. All Nightmare Long 

25. Damage, Inc. 

26. Breadfan 

27. Phantom Lord 

Metallica also perform some of their greatest hits, including "One", "Sad But True", "Master of Puppets", "Enter Sandman", and "Nothing Else Matters". As usual, these songs immediately get the crowd fired up. And as usual, Kirk's solos are top-notch. The classic "Battery", in particular, confirms yet again that these guys will always remain in a league of their own. In addition to the eighteen tracks in the main program, Metallica: Quebec Magnetic also includes eight live bonus tracks. The highlights here are the legendary "For Whom The Bell Tolls", "Holier Than Thou", and "Damage Inc.", featuring yet another masterclass level live guitar solo from Kirk. Terrific show.  

Note: The footage used for Metallica: Quebec Magnetic is from the two shows Metallica staged in Quebec City in the fall of 2009. It was shot by Wayne Isham (director: Metallica: S&M, Metallica: Cunning Stunts, Metallica: St. Anger Rehearsals).   

Recorded live in Quebec City, Quebec on October 31 - November 1, 2009, Metallica: Quebec Magnetic looks rather impressive there is a very short prologue with black and white footage from Quebec that boasts wonderful depth despite the fact that the camera constantly moves. Inside the venue, however, multiple cameras were used to follow the band on a decent size stage. There are plenty of close-ups as well as larger panoramic shots that show the enthusiastic crowds around the band (the stage is right in the middle of the venue). The lights often change but never become overwhelming. Clarity is excellent from start to finish, even when the lighting is subdued. Additionally, motion-judder is never a serious issue of concern. Some extremely light noise, however, occasionally creeps in. All in all, this is a fine looking show that should make a lot of Metallica fans very happy.  



Sold Out