Ludwig Van Beethoven's Final Quartet Performed By The Quatuor Ardeo: (DVD) Release Date: 1/7/2022


The privilege of entering into the intimacy of rehearsals for Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet No. 16. Thierry Aug 's lens captures the nuances offered by each of the musicians of the Quatuor Ardeo in their interpretation of the composer's audacious and groundbreaking final work.

Carole Petitdemange, Mi-sa Yang, violins Yuko Hara, viola Joëlle Martinez, cello In Latin, Ardeo, means 'I burn.' It is the name of the quartet as well as it's motto and defines the way these four young women approach their repertoires. The Quatuor Ardeo was formed in 2001 within the CNSM of Paris. Artistic understanding, a spirit of harmony and great complicity has given rise to a musical career crowned with several international prizes - in Bordeaux, Moscow, Melbourne as well as the Premio Paolo Borciani - have come as rewards for it's exceptional qualities. Faithfully supported by Mécénat Musical Société Générale, the quartet has been in residence at the Singer- Polignac Foundation between 2008 and 2016. Named 'Rising Stars' in 2014, the quartet performs in the most prestigious European concert halls: the Philharmonics of Cologne, of Paris and of Luxembourg, the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam, the Konzerthaus of Vienna and of Dortmund, the Laeiszhalle of Hamburg, the Konserthus of Stockholm, the Megaron of Athens, the Auditori of Barcelona, the Casa da Musica of Porto, the Palace of Arts of Budapest, the Barbican Centre of London, the Festspielhaus of Baden Baden, the Cité de la musique, Salle Cortot, the Centre Georges Pompidou, the Arsenal of Metz. The Quartet has participated in a number of festivals like the Festival de Radio France of Montpellier, the Folles Journées of Nantes as well as in regional events and in Japan, Santander, and Kuhmo. They have shown great character, integrity, inspired and powerful musicianship in the last 18 years and have proved themselves to be one of the best quartets of their generation.
  • UPC: 3760123579117
  • Genre: Classical Artists
  • Release Date: 1/7/2022
  • Product ID: LAHU7884DVD
  • Distributor/Studio: La Huit
  • Weight: .21 lb



Sold Out