Low Rawls: Stormy Monday CD 2013

Originally a gospel singer with the Pilgrim Travelers, Lou enlisted into the paratroopers for three years before resuming his singing career with the Pilgrim Travelers. It was whilst touring with the Travelers in 1958, alongside Sam Cooke, that Lou was involved in a serious car accident, with Lou initially being pronounced dead at the scene and spending more than five days in a coma when he got to hospital. It took many months to fully recover, an event Lou was later to claim life-changing.


Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 (They Call It) Stormy Monday
2 God Bless the Child
3 See See Rider
4 Willow Weep for Me
5 I'M Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
6 In the Evening (when the Sun Goes Down)
7 'Taint't Nobody's Biz-Ness If I Do
8 Lost and Lookin'
9 I'D Rather Drink Muddy Water
10 Sweet Lover


Upon recovery he switched musical styles and was signed by Capitol in 1962, although his debut album would ultimately appear on the Blue Note label. Backed by the Les McCann Trio, Lou proved himself more than adept at jazz, producing a stunning debut album. Whilst his later success would come when he turned his attentions more towards R&B and soul (with more than a hint of pop), Stormy Monday has survived the passage of time extremely well, being as delightful a jazz album now as it was then. It also remains Lou's definitive jazz album. Hallmark.


Lou Rawls
Stormy Monday
29 January 2013
IMPORT-GBR ~ Discs:1 ~ Country:UK
Compact Disc


Sold Out