Leona Lewis: Spirit-Deluxe Edition CD/ Bonus DVD 2008 Import

2008 deluxe edition re-issue, features the newly recorded single, 'Forgive Me', along with a new version of 'Homeless' as well as the bonus tracks featured on various other pressings, Moment Like This, Missing Glasses and Run. 17 tracks in all are featured on the album. The bonus DVD (NTSC/Region 0) features the music videos to, Bleeding Love (UK Version), Bleeding Love (US version), Better In Time, Footprints In The Sand, Forgive Me (UK version), A Moment Like This and 'Making of 'Forgive Me'. Sony/BMG. 2008.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Bleeding Love
2 Whatever It Takes
3 Homeless (2008 Version)
4 Better in Time
5 Yesterday
6 Take a Bow
7 I Will Be
8 Angel
9 Here I Am
10 I'M You
11 The Best You Ever Had
12 The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
13 Footprints in the Sand
14 Moment Like This
15 Forgive Me (Bonus Track)
16 Missing Glasses (Bonus Track)
17 Run (Bonus Track)
18 Bleeding Love (Uk Version-Music Video) (Bonus DVD)
19 Bleeding Love (Us Version-Music Video) (Bonus DVD)
20 Better in Time (Music Video) (Bonus DVD)
21 Footprints in the Sand (Music Video) (Bonus DVD)
22 Forgive Me (Uk Version-Music Video) (Bonus DVD)
23 A Moment Like This (Music Video) (Bonus DVD)
24 Making of 'Forgive Me' (Bonus DVD)



Leona Lewis
Spirit-Deluxe Edition
Drum & Bass Collections
18 November 2008
IMPORT-EU INCL. BONUS DVD ~ Discs:2 ~ Format:NTSC ~ Region:0 ~ Country:EU
Sony Bmg
Compact Disc

Product Reviews

The truest test of Simon Cowell's power within the music industry circa 2008 was not whether American Idol could produce a star in its seventh season or if its U.K. cousin, The X Factor, would have another success in its fifth season -- it was whether he could turn Leona Lewis into the international superstar he so clearly believed she is. Lewis was the third winner of The X Factor -- the Cowell-driven replacement to Pop Idol in Britain, a replacement that came to be because he wanted to own a significant piece of the show -- and one of the key differences between Factor and Idol is that the judges can mentor the contestants and therefore have a stake in the outcome of the show, more than they do on Idol, where the judges merely comment. Rightly impressed by Lewis' multi-octave voice -- reminiscent of a warmer, earthbound Mariah Carey -- Cowell continued his mentorship after the conclusion of the show, making her the first contestant in the whole Idol/Factor enterprise that he personally shepherded through the major-label process. He struck a deal with Clive Davis -- the executive producer behind all the American Idol projects, the producer who publicly bristled when Kelly Clarkson tried to take control of her career through her original compositions -- and the two launched a grand plan to break Lewis in her native U.K. first, then slowly roll her out in the U.S. a few months later, via an appearance on Oprah and a slightly re-sequenced and remixed version of her debut, Spirit. That U.S. version drops the bonus track of Leona's version of "A Moment Like This," her first hit single that is not so coincidentally a cover of Kelly's first big single. If Kelly became a thorn in Davis' side, Leona Lewis seems happy, even eager, to play the major-label game, singing anything that comes her way, never lodging a complaint when she has to cut a couple R&B-flavored tracks to appeal to the American market. These tunes -- "Misses Glass" and "Forgive Me" -- are just slightly glitzier than the rest of Spirit, surely bearing heavier rhythms but not to the extent that the beats obscure Lewis' voice, as the whole point of Spirit is to showcase her singing, particularly those high glory notes that are all the rage on Idol/Factor. Unlike most Idol/Factor alumni, Lewis can hit those big notes but make it seem easy, never straining her voice and building nicely to the climax.


Sold Out