Joe Pass: My Song CD 2005

During his last years guitarist Joe Pass often used the same unit on a regular basis, one that he had utilized to record his classic For Django, back in 1963. For this pleasing effort John Pisano offers some suitable rhythm guitar while bassist Jim Hughart and drummer Colin Bailey are typically tasteful in support. Tom Ranier is an important addition to the quartet, having one outing apiece on tenor, clarinet, and soprano while playing piano on the remaining tracks. Joe Pass naturally emerges as the main star, interpreting nine standards and two of his originals with taste, hard-driving swing, and creativity within the bop tradition. Pass made so many recordings during the 20 years preceding this date that it is difficult to call any one of them "definitive," but this is an excellent group effort. ~ Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Rockin' in Rhythm
2 Azure
3 Keepin' Out of Mischief Now
4 Ah Moore
5 I Can't Kick
6 Rockin' Chair
7 Song for Ellen
8 Jitterbug Waltz
9 The Duke
10 Jo-Wes (a Tribute to Wes Montgomery)
11 Ain't Misbehavin'


Joe Pass
My Song
26 April 2005
~ Discs:1 ~ Country:USA
Umgd/Telarc ( TEL )
Compact Disc


Sold Out