Jimi Hendrix: Miami Pop Festival 1968 CD 2013

2013 live archive release from the Rock icon. The May 18, 1968 Miami Pop Festival was the first major Rock festival staged on the East Coast. The Experience were in the midst of recording Electric Ladyland when they were offered the headline status by promoter Michael Lang. Their two electrifying sets have never been released and make their debut here as part of this album. The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Miami Pop Festival introduces the first recorded stage performances of 'Hear My Train A Comin'' and 'Tax Free' while showcasing definitive live takes on such classics as 'Fire,' 'Hey Joe,' 'I Don't Live Today' and 'Purple Haze.' 

Note:This clip is for Audio sample only -no video on the CD 



The package includes never before published photos taken at the festival and an essay by award-winning music journalist and Grammy Museum Executive Director Bob Santelli. This album includes the show as originally recorded on site by Hendrix's long term sound engineer, Eddie Kramer.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Introduction
2 Hey Joe
3 Foxey Lady
4 Tax Free
5 Fire
6 Hear My Train a Comin
7 I Don T Live Today
8 Red House
9 Purple Haze
10 Fire [afternoon Show] [*][version]
11 Foxey Lady [afternoon Show] [*][version]

Product Reviews

This previously unreleased live set recorded at the Gulfstream Park racetrack in Hallandale, Florida in 1968 is a welcome addition to the vast back catalog of Hendrix's live work. The show features the first recorded live performances of "Hear My Train A-Comin" and "Tax Free," as well as the usual Hendrix staples such as "Hey Joe" and "Purple Haze.", Rovi


Jimi Hendrix Experience
Miami Pop Festival
Rock / Pop
5 November 2013
~ Discs:1 ~ Country:USA
Sbme/Legacy ( SNYL )
Compact Disc


Sold Out