Jimi Hendrix: Live At Woodstock 1969 Special 2 CD Remixed Remastered Edition 2010

Special two-CD set of expanded, remixed, and remastered recordings from Hendrix's famed August 1969 performance at the Woodstock Festival. Features 35 minutes of originally unreleased music and a full-color, 24-page booklet with rare photos, complete credits, and an essay by Rolling Stone's David Fricke. Clip is from Woodstock Blu-ray also available and shown for Audio purposes only-This is a CD no video on the CD.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1. 1 Introduction
1. 2 Message to Love
1. 3 Hear My Train a Comin'
1. 4 Spanish Castle Magic
1. 5 Red House
1. 6 Lover Man
1. 7 Foxey Lady
1. 8 Jam Back at the House
2. 1 Izabella
2. 2 Fire
2. 3 Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
2. 4 The Star Spangled Banner
2. 5 Purple Haze
2. 6 Woodstock Improvisation
2. 7 Villanova Junction
2. 8 Hey Joe

The original Woodstock was an event that became both legend and myth. And Jimi Hendrix's headlining appearance is burned in most people's minds thanks to his heavily distorted, solo electric guitar performance of "Star Spangled Banner," one of the most significant events in popular culture during the Vietnam War. Hendrix's performance ended the festival on Monday morning, August 18, 1969, when only about 25,000 of the estimated 400,000 people remained on Max Yasgur's muddy, decimated farm in upstate New York. About one hour of this historic set is preserved on Live at Woodstock, which was approved by the Hendrix estate. Legal entanglements prevented any more footage from being included. Musically, Hendrix's performance was alternately relaxed and jittery. An ad hoc group he called Gypsy Sun and Rainbows -- bassist Billy Cox, drummer Mitch Mitchell, rhythm guitarist Larry Lee, and percussionists Juma Sultan and Jerry Velez -- backed him. "In short, it's nothin' but a band of gypsies," he said. The lineup was under-rehearsed and Hendrix occasionally apologized for the performances by saying they are just "jammin'", and he tells the crowd they can leave if they want. Besides the obvious pinnacle "Star Spangled Banner," Live at Woodstock includes a few other strong performances. "Red House" is an electric-blues powerhouse. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" provides ample opportunity for Hendrix to unleash a long jam; at times he closes his eyes and falls into a trance-like state as if he's in another realm, and those moments are magical. Hendrix concentrates on slashing rhythm guitar patterns on "Woodstock Improvisation" before easing into a mellow, soulful groove on "Villanova Junction." Live at Woodstock does work on some musical levels, but it's existence as a historical and cultural document is far more important. ~ Bret Adams, Rovi


Jimi Hendrix
Live at Woodstock
16 November 2010
2 CD ~ Discs:2 ~ Country:USA
Sbme/Legacy ( SNYL )
Compact Disc


Sold Out