Isaac Hayes: "Shaft" CD 2009 Remastered Edition Soundtrack

Few soundtracks surpass hit status and become phenoms, but Shaft 's sure did. Here's a remastered reissue of Hayes' hugely influential music, expanded with lengthy liner notes and a bonus Theme from Shaft 2009 mix! Those join the original theme plus Soulsville; Do Your Thing; Bumpy's Blues , and the rest.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Theme From Shaft
2 Bumpy's Lament
3 Walk From Regio's
4 Ellie's Love Theme
5 Shaft's Cab Ride
6 Cafe Regio's
7 Early Sunday Morning
8 Be Yourself
9 A Friend's Place
10 Soulsville
11 No Name Bar
12 Bumpy's Blues
13 Shaft Strikes Again
14 Do Your Thing
15 The End Theme
16 Theme From Shaft [remix][*]

Product Reviews

Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most lasting but also one of the most successful. Isaac Hayes was undoubtedly one of the era's most accomplished soul artists, having helped elevate Stax to its esteemed status; therefore, his being chosen to score such a high-profile major-studio film shouldn't seem like a surprise. And with "Theme from Shaft," he delivered an anthem just as ambitious and revered as the film itself, a song that has only grown more treasured over the years, after having been an enormously popular hit at the time of its release. Besides this song, though, there aren't too many more radio-targeted moments here. "Soulsville" operates effectively as the sort of downtempo ballad Hayes was most known for, just as the almost 20-minute "Do Your Thing" showcased just how impressive the Bar-Kays had become, stretching the song to unseen limits with their inventive, funky jamming. For the most part, though, this double-LP features nothing but cinematic moments of instrumentation, composed and produced by Hayes while being performed by the Bar-Kays -- some downtempo, others quite jazzy, nothing too funky, though. Even if it's not quite as enjoyable as Curtis Mayfield's Superfly due to its emphasis on instrumentals, Shaft still remains a powerful record; one of Hayes' pinnacle moments for sure. [This reissue features a 2009 mix of "Theme from Shaft."] ~ Jason Birchmeier, All Music Guide


Isaac Hayes
R&B & Soul
Soul / R & B
3 November 2009
DELUXE ED. ~ Discs:1
Umgd/Fantasy/Stax ( STA )
Compact Disc


Sold Out