George Shearing: Reflections 'The Best of George Shearing (1992-1998) CD 2005

13 jazz sides from the blind pianist who recorded these beautiful solos and instrumentals while in his seventies! Includes a mesmerizing cover of Dave Brubeck's Summer Song plus Straighten Up and Fly Right; Oh, Lady Be Good; Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You; Wail; How Beautiful is Night; Conception; Peace , and more.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Birdfeathers
2 Straighten Up and Fly Right
3 Summer Song
4 Oh, Lady Be Good!
5 Wail
6 Conception
7 How Beautiful Is Night
8 My Favorite Things
9 Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
10 Bags' Groove
11 Subconscious Lee
12 Peace
13 God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen

Product Reviews

Subtitled The Best of George Shearing (1992-1998), Reflections truly is just that. This excellent compilation culls tracks from seven discs recorded while Shearing was in his seventies, placing him in different contexts performing a variety of mostly familiar material. His solo take on Dave Brubeck's "Summer Song" is especially beautiful, and the trio arrangements of "Straighten Up and Fly Right" and "Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You" are standouts. However, it's the varied instrumentation that keeps the listener tuned in. The gorgeous accompaniment of the Robert Farnon Orchestra elevates and enriches "Oh, Lady Be Good!" without diminishing its inherent swing and gives "How Beautiful is the Night" a texturally shimmering glow. Vibist Steve Nelson and guitarist Louis Stewart are especially effective on the quintet version of Shearing's own "Conception" and add quiet depth to the Horace Silver composition, "Peace." Reflections provides a tasty re-introduction to some fine music from a very classy gentleman. ~ Jim Newsom, Rovi


George Shearing
Reflections-Best of George Shearing
22 November 2005
~ Discs:1
Umgd/Telarc ( TEL )
Compact Disc


Sold Out