Elton John: Elton 60 - Live At Madison Square Garden [Blu-ray] 2007 Dolby Digital 5.1

Is it possible that the "Rocket Man" has turned 60? The sold-out crowd at Madison Square Garden is equally amazed when they see Elton John marking not only this birthday milestone, but 60 performances at the illustrious New York venue. Elton performs "Madman Across the Water," "Better Off Dead," "Honky Cat," "Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word," "Tiny Dancer," and many more. Soundtracks: English PCM 5.1, PCM stereo 

Presented in a 16x9 Widescreen aspect ratio of 1.78:1, encoded with MPEG-4 AVC and granted a 1080p transfer, Elton 60: Live at Madison Square Garden arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of Universal Music.

Tracklist: WOW !!!

1 Sixty Years On

2 Madman Across the Water

3 Where to Now St. Peter?

4 Hercules

5 Ballad of a Well-Known Gun

6 Take Me to the Pilot

7 High Flying Bird

8 Holiday Inn

9 Burn Down the Mission

10 Better Off Dead

11 Levon

12 Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)

13 Daniel

14 Honky Cat

15 Rocket Man

16 I Guess That's Why They Call It the Blues

17 The Bridge

18 Roy Rogers

19 Mona Lisa and Mad Hatters

20 Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word

21 Bennie and the Jets

22 All the Girls Love Alice

23 Tiny Dancer

24 Something About the Way You Look Tonight

25 Philadelphia Freedom

26 Sad Songs (Say So Much)

27 Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me

28 I'm Still Dancing

29 The Bitch Is Back

30 Crocodile Rock

31 Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting

32 Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding

33 Your Song. 

The picture quality is very strong. Contrast is impressive, clarity very good and detail excellent. The color-scheme is also terrific. Vibrant reds, blues, yellows, greens, blacks and whites are everywhere. The lighting in particular is very effective – there are absolutely no shadow issues to report. Indeed, even if you are looking only at the screencaptures we have provided with the review, you should be able to tell that Elton 60: Live at Madison Square Garden is a very special release. 

To sum it all up, Universal Music have done an excellent job with the Blu-ray release of Elton 60: Live at Madison Square Garden, and I am convinced that fans of the British singer will be thrilled with it. 

There are two audio tracks on this Blu-ray disc: English PCM 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit) and English PCM Stereo. I opted for the English PCM 5.1 track and later on did a few random comparisons for the purpose of this review. 

Similar to the video treatment, the audio treatment does not disappoint. The PCM 5.1 track allows one to truly immerse into this very special show. Elton John's singing is crisp and delightfully clear. One almost feels as if he is singing for one's personal enjoyment. I thought that "Levon" and "I'm Still Standing" sounded exceptional. The bass is strong, the rear channels not overly active but very effective (the crowd noise is under control), and the high frequencies not overdone. There are a few songs where I felt that Elton John's vocals were brought forward a tad more than they should have been – most notably in "Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me" and "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" – but overall the audio treatment is indeed very strong. For the record, I did not detect any disturbing pops, cracks, or hissings.

The English PCM track is very good. Dynamically, it is not as potent as the PCM 5.1 track, but it certainly allows for a terrific listening experience. I still prefer the PCM 5.1 track, as it gives the band a better exposure, but the PCM 2.0 track is certainly quite convincing. There are no disturbing pops, cracks, or hissings that I detected with the PCM 2.0 track. All in all, it is indeed very easy to tell that Universal Music put a good amount of work into the post-production mixing of Elton 60: Live at Madison Square Garden 


Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC

Video resolution: 1080p

Aspect ratio: 1.78:1 16x9 Widescreen


English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)

English: LPCM 2.0

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)

English: LPCM 2.0 (less) 



None (less) 


50GB Blu-ray Disc

Single disc (1 BD)


Region free 

Format: Color 

Language: English 

Region: Region A/1 (Read more about DVD/Blu-ray formats.) 

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 

Number of discs: 1 

Rated: NR (Not Rated) 

Studio: Island / Mercury 

DVD Release Date: December 4, 2007 

Run Time: 120 minutes


Live Concerts: LC013


Sold Out