Diana Krall: Live in Rio (2008 Blu-ray) 2009 DTS-HD Master Audio

Diana Krall has had a long time fascination with bossa nova, a type of music, which perfectly suits her sophisticated yet sensual style. This culminated in her new studio album "Quiet Nights" (released by Verve in spring 2009) and in this stunning concert filmed in the home of the bossa nova, Rio de Janeiro, in November 2008. Accompanied by her band and an orchestra 801213333394

 Diana Krall delivers a superb set of standards in true bossa nova style but clearly bearing her unique stamp. This Blu-ray captures Diana Krall at her scintillating best.

Diana Krall: Live in Rio comes to the Blu-ray format in a 1080i/AVC encode framed in a 1:78:1 video window. Black levels are stable and deep, and shadow detail is very good. Contrast is spot on, as there is no sign of bleaching or hot levels. Colors are vibrant, and nicely rendered.

With a Diana Krall release, the audio is more important than the video in my opinon. Featuring an English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio track, a 5.1 Dolby Digital track encoded at 640kbps, and a LPCM stereo track, the audio offered on this disc is superb! Vocals are well recorded and present Krall's sultry voice with all of its texture and breathiness intact. The orchestra is very well captured, with strings having a nice "sheen" to them. It adds a nice fullness to the mix without covering up the quartet. That string bass will fully test the transition between your main speakers and subwoofer, as the bass covers three octaves easy. The piano is nicely positioned center right, the drum and upright bass dead center – and the guitar far left. The positioning of the guitar seemed too far left, as it sounded fragmented (or by itself), and acoustically isolated from the rest of the group. The front sound stage is deep and laterally wide, and folds coherently into the surrounds which gives the mix a nice spatial envelopment. I found the DTS track, and the LPCM track both sound very pleasing.


Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC

Video resolution: 1080i

Aspect ratio: 1.78:1


English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

English: Dolby Digital 5.1

English: LPCM 2.0

English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

English: Dolby Digital 5.1

English: LPCM 2.0 (less) 





50GB Blu-ray Disc

Single disc (1 BD)


Region free 


1) I Love Being Here With You 

2) Let's Fall In Love 

3) Where Or When 

4) Too Marvellous For Words 

5) I've Grown Accustomed To His Face 

6) Walk On By 

7) Frim Fram Sauce 

8) Cheek To Cheek 

9) You're My Thrill 

10) Let's Face The Music And Dance 

11) Every Time We Say Goodbye 

12) So Nice 

13) Quiet Nights 

14) Este Seu Olhar 

15) The Boy From Ipanema 

16) I Don't Know Enough About You 

17) S'Wonderful 

18) Exactly Like You 

BONUS FEATURES: "Quiet Conversations" - interviews with Diana and her band in Rio de Janeiro. "The Boy From Ipanema" - promotional film for the track from her new album filmed in Rio. 

Blu-ray Exclusive! - "The Rooftop Sessions" - Four additional tracks filmed in Rio: 

1) The Boy From Ipanema 

2) Too Marvellous For Words 

3) Cheek To Cheek 

4) Quiet Nights  



Sold Out