Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds Live At Radio City Music Hall 2 DVD 2007 16:9 Dolby Digital 5.1

Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds' April 22 concert at New York's Radio City Music Hall is  aptly named "Live at Radio City". 2 DVD Special Edition this 27-track set is graced with a number of songs never before released as Matthews/Reynolds live performances, including "Crush," "Gravedigger" and "Don't Drink the Water." The track list also features oldies such as "Lie in Our Graves," "#41" and "Two Step." Among the bonus features on the DVD are a 46-minute behind-the-scenes documentary, a 5.1 audio mix and a photo gallery. Rovi Rating:

Disc #1 -- Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds: Live at Radio City - Songs 1-21
1. Bartender [8:54]
2. When the World Ends [4:14]
3. Stay or Leave [4:17]
4. Save Me [5:12]
5. Crush [9:30]
6. So Damn Lucky [5:17]
8. Gravedigger [4:06]
9. The Maker [6:24]
10. Old Dirt Hill (Bring That Beat Back) [6:29]
12. Eh Hee [4:35]
13. Betrayal [5:59]
14. Out of My Hands [5:33]
15. Still Water >> [2:24]
16. Don't Drink the Water [8:17]
17. Oh [3:20]
18. Cornbread [5:59]
19. Crash Into Me [5:52]
20. Down By the River [6:32]
21. You Are My Sanity [5:04]
22. Sister [5:33]
23. Lie in Our Graves [8:35]
Disc #2 -- Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds: Live at Radio City - Songs 22-26/Bonus Features
1. Some Devil [6:08]
2. Grace Is Gone [4:13]
3. Dancing Nancies [9:29]
4. #41 [6:45]
5. Two Step [6:36]
6. Credits [2:39]
1. Mondays at Miller's [6:46]
2. Gravitating Towards the Basement [3:14]
3. Playing the Mistakes [3:02]
4. Antsmarching.org [1:02]
5. Out of My Hands [2:43]
6. Facemasks [1:53]
7. It Feels Invincible [4:31]
8. Try Not to Understand Anything I'm Saying [5:08]
9. Khoisan [5:04]
10. You Don't Get a Lot Done When You're a Tree [1:12]
11. Sister [3:33]
12. This Is All Cherry [3:31]
13. The Ephemeral Nature of Consciousness [3:46]

In some ways, two and a half hours of acoustic Dave Matthews with Tim Reynolds seems like it would be a snore -- especially since a boatload of these 27 songs range between five and nine minutes! The Dave Matthews Band can get away with such excesses as a group, but in this intimate setting on such a large stage? It's either truly wonderful or something of an exercise in intense ego run riot, right? To be fair, this is not a snore. Reynolds is a hell of a guitarist. He is not one given to random excess and never pretends to be a guitar hero -- though he is. The program is simply that this pair brings out Matthews' tunes from both the DMB and his solo recording and plays them for an audience full of adoration and gratitude. And, for the most part, it works. The opening blues moans that introduce "Bartender" let the listener know that this is no ordinary acoustic show. Renditions of "Crush," "Gravedigger," "Some Devil," and "Crash into Me" are gorgeously done here. There is a conviction in Matthews' voice that is missing on a lot of the band's live records. Likewise, "Grace Is Gone" and the cover versions like Neil Young's "Down by the River," Daniel Lanois' "The Maker," and Woody Guthrie's "This Land Is Your Land" are also wonderfully done. There is also a new song called "Sister" that Matthews overly explains, but the song's terrific. There are a few dull moments, but over the entire course of this set they are actually few and far between -- unless Matthews' voice gets to you after a while, and then perhaps you're in trouble. When Matthews is lazy (and he often is), the results can be samey sounding -- but he's not here. He understands implicitly that his singing is more important than it is with the DMB, and it needs to carry the weight. Reynolds adds so much in terms of color and texture -- whether he's playing straight, using effects, playing slide, or inventing some new scale to play a solo in, he transforms what might be merely intimate and engaging into something (mostly) compelling. Even the nine-plus-minute "Dancing Nancies" works like a charm because Reynolds is able to create an alternate voice with his lead guitar playing. His solo on Young's "Down by the River" actually mimics (on acoustic guitar) the songwriter's, by going into a somewhat extended single-note hammer until it becomes trancelike -- he could just as easily have shown off. For Matthews fans, this is essential. For those on the fence about Matthews, this is document enough to win you over to his talent as a songwriter -- without spending the fruitless time that DMB recordings take up. For those who liked Some Devil, his solo effort, this document will provide further enjoyment. It's as solid as an extended presentation can be and is, for the most part, thoroughly enjoyable. The great contribution it does provide is to demonstrate what a guitar-picking wonder Reynolds is, even more so than on earlier collaborations between these two. Somebody should sign this guy up, and quick. Includies the So Damn Lucky documentary and a photo montage as bonus features.] ~ Thom Jurek, Rovi

Live at Radio City
Music Video & Concerts, Rock
Rock / Pop, Music Video (Concert / Performance)
14 August 2007
Dave Matthews, Tim Reynolds
Fenton Williams, Sam Erickson
Not Rated

14 August 2007
14 Aug 2007
1: USA, Canada
Dolby Digital 5.1, PCM Stereo, English
Discs:1 ~ Format:Ntsc ~ Region:1
Dave Matthews, Tim Reynolds
Director:Fenton Williams, Director:Sam Erickson
Nr Dvd-Standard


Sold Out