Counting Crows: August & Everything- Live at Town Hall 2007 (Blu-ray) 2011 DTS-HD Master Audio

 Counting Crows debut album August and Everything After was an instant success on its release in late 1993 and went on to sell over 7 million copies in America. In the UK it charted at No.16 and has sold over 400,000 copies. On September 18, 2007, the band performed the complete album live for the first time at Town Hall in New York City. Rovi Rating: 

The gig was filmed in high definition and is now presented here as the first ever Counting Crows live concert Blu-ray release. The band has maintained a hugely successful career with global album sales now in excess of 20 million but they have always saved their finest moments for the live arena. Now for the first time a Counting Crows live concert film is available to own.


1) Round Here / Raining In Baltimore

2) Omaha

3) Mr. Jones

4) Perfect Blue Buildings

5) Anna Begins

6) Time And Time Again

7) Rain King

8) Sullivan Street

9) Ghost Train

10) A Murder Of One

Presented in an aspect ratio of 1.78:1, encoded with MPEG-4 AVC and granted a 1080i "live" transfer, Counting Crows: August And Everything After arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of Eagle Rock Entertainment.

Filmed at Town Hall in New York City on September 18, 2007, Counting Crows: August And Everything After looks excellent in high-definition. Detail is consistently impressive, especially during close-ups - and I have tried to include a number of different screenshots in the review so that you could see for yourself - and clarity outstanding. In fact, even between the songs, when the camera quickly zooms over the audience, detail is very good. Color reproduction is convincing as well. 

There are three audio tracks on this Blu-ray disc: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, LPCM 2.0 and Dolby Digital 5.1. For the record, Eagle Rock Entertainment have provided optional English, French, Spanish, and German subtitles for the long interview included with the concert. 

The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 is well rounded and boasting an excellent set of nuanced dynamics. Adam Duritz's vocals are never left hanging - the guitars are never overexposed and generally speaking well balanced. The few times when his singing feels pushed back a bit is when he moves or the crowd noise becomes prominent. The sound, however, remains consistently crisp. I felt that the surround channels could have been used slightly better, but this is very much an intimate show with a distinctive club feel, which rightfully has not been overenhanced. For the record, I did not detect any disturbing pops, cracks, or audio dropouts to report in this review.  


Counting Crows
August & Everything After: Live From Town Hall
Music Video & Concerts, Rock
Rock, Musicvideo - Music Video (Concert / Performance)
29 August 2011
Counting Crows
Christian Lamb
Blu-ray Disc
O: Blu-ray Disc



Sold Out