Bon Iver: For Emma Forever Ago CD 2008

Justin Vernon began recording as Bon Iver following the breakup of DeYarmond Edison, an indie folk group similar in tone and manner to Iron & Wine, Little Wings and, to a certain extent, Bonnie "Prince" Billy. Pronounced 'bohn eevair', it is French for "good winter" which is spelled wrong deliberately. This debut CD is centered around Justin Vernon, who is the primary force behind Bon Iver, as he moved to a remote cabin in the woods of Northwestern Wisconsin at the onset of winter, alone for three months. From this solitary time emerged a bold, uninhibited new musical focus of all his personal trouble, lack of perspective, heartache, longing, love, loss, and guilt that had been stockpiled over the past six years into songs. The NY Times called this record "irresistible", and it was given a "Recommended" rating by Pitchfork. 9 tracks. Jagjaguwar Records. 2008.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Flume 3:39
2 Lump Sum 3:21
3 Skinny Love 3:58
4 The Wolves (Act I and II) 5:22
5 Blindsided 5:29
6 Creature Fear 3:06
7 Team 1:56
8 For Emma 3:40
9 Re: Stacks 6:41


Bon Iver
For Emma Forever Ago
19 February 2008
~ Discs:1
Jagjaguwar ( JAGJ )
Compact Disc


Sold Out