Bob Dylan: Freewheelin' Bob Dylan SACD-SACD/HYBRID 2003

Bob's second album in one, easy-to-swallow gulp. Simply one of the best recordings in '60s folk.

Product Reviews

It's hard to overestimate the importance of The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan, the record that firmly established Dylan as an unparalleled songwriter, one of considerable skill, imagination, and vision.


At the time, folk had been quite popular on college campuses and bohemian circles, making headway onto the pop charts in diluted form, and while there certainly were a number of gifted songwriters, nobody had transcended the scene as Dylan did with this record.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 Blowin' in the Wind
2 Girl From the North Country
3 Masters of War
4 Down the Highway
5 Bob Dylan's Blues
6 Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall
7 Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
8 Bob Dylan's Dream
9 Oxford Town
10 Talking World War III Blues
11 Corrine, Corrina
12 Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance
13 I Shall Be Free

There are a couple (very good) covers, with "Corrina Corrina" and "Honey Just Allow Me One More Chance," but they pale with the originals here. At the time, the social protests received the most attention, and deservedly so, since "Blowin' in the Wind," "Masters of War," and "A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall" weren't just specific in their targets; they were gracefully executed and even melodic. Although they've proven resilient throughout the years, if that's all Freewheelin' had to offer, it wouldn't have had its seismic impact, but this also revealed a songwriter who could turn out whimsy ("Don't Think Twice, It's All Right"), gorgeous love songs ("Girl From the North Country"), and cheerfully absurdist humor ("Bob Dylan's Blues," "Bob Dylan's Dream") with equal skill. This is rich, imaginative music, capturing the sound and spirit of America as much as that of Louis Armstrong, Hank Williams, or Elvis Presley. Dylan, in many ways, recorded music that equaled this, but he never topped it. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi


Bob Dylan
Freewheelin' Bob Dylan
Rock / Pop
16 September 2003
Sony/Legacy ( SNYL )
E: Super Audio CD


Sold Out