Bob Dylan: John Wesley Harding SACD SACD/HYBRID 2003

In the year of psychedelia, Dylan bucked the trend with this rootsy classic. All Along the Watchtower is the highlight on an album packed with amazing tracks like I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine; Dear Landlord; The Wicked Messenger and I'll Be Your Baby Tonight .

Product Reviews

Bob Dylan returned from exile with John Wesley Harding, a quiet, country-tinged album that split dramatically from his previous three. A calm, reflective album, John Wesley Harding strips away all of the wilder tendencies of Dylan's rock albums -- even the then-unreleased Basement Tapes he made the previous year -- but it isn't a return to his folk roots. If anything, the album is his first serious foray into country, but only a handful of songs, such as "I'll Be Your Baby Tonight," are straight country songs. Instead, John Wesley Harding is informed by the rustic sound of country, as well as many rural myths, with seemingly simple songs like "All Along the Watchtower," "I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine," and "The Wicked Messenger" revealing several layers of meaning with repeated plays.

Track Listing

  Track # Title
1 John Wesley Harding
2 As I Went Out One Morning
3 I Dreamed I Saw st. Augustine
4 All Along the Watchtower
5 The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest
6 Drifter's Escape
7 Dear Landlord
8 I Am a Lonesome Hobo
9 I Pity the Poor Immigrant
10 The Wicked Messenger
11 Down Along the Cove
12 I'Ll Be Your Baby Tonight

Although the lyrics are somewhat enigmatic, the music is simple, direct, and melodic, providing a touchstone for the country-rock revolution that swept through rock in the late '60s. [In 2003, Columbia/Legacy reissued 15 selected titles from Dylan's catalog as hybrid SACDs, playable in both regular CD players and Super Audio CD players. Each title is packaged as a digipak, containing the full original artwork. On each of the titles, and on each of the layers, the remastered sound is spectacular, a considerable upgrade from the initial CD pressings.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi


Bob Dylan
John Wesley Harding
Rock / Pop
16 September 2003
Sony/Legacy ( SNYL )
E: Super Audio CD


Sold Out